Bountiful garden

Our late start on the season meant that most of our tomatoes didn’t ripen before the threat of the first frost. To avoid losing the tomatoes completely, I picked most of them, and I’m hoping they’ll ripen in the house… However, to deal with that tomatoes that are ripe, I decided to make very basic tomato sauce and freeze it. Keep in mind, I’ve never made tomato sauce (I always buy it in a jar).  I hope this experiment turns out okay.

 

Ripe tomatoes

 

Green and almost ripe tomatoes

 

Boiling water for 15s to loosen skin

 

Ice water bath to stop cooking process

Skin and seeds removed

 

Chop chop

 

Making into sauce

Now, what to do with all of the jalapeno peppers that I picked?

Leave a Reply

