Master Bath

I spent most of yesterday selecting fixtures and tile and everything else for our master bath.  But, now, I’m second guessing my selections.  Help me out, okay?

I selected this vanity and chose modern fixtures in brushed nickel.  However, I just discovered this bathroom and I really like the look.

Am I over-thinking this?  Keep in mind, we live in a 1920’s Chicago Bungalow.  We’re adding shed dormers upstairs to build out a master suite with bathroom, and a loft-style office.  So, the upstairs will be (in my opinion) kind of modern, whereas the downstairs looks more tradition (though our furniture is modern/ contemporary).

I am definitely not an interior designer!

3 Responses to “Master Bath”

  1. pll Says:

    Both vanities are nice. Personally, I have a bias towards the first because it’s easier to clean (I know that’s a low bar) and it may be in the way of some of your own stuff.

    If you are renovating the bathroom, give some long, good thought to the power outlets and the location of the towel rack(s), especially with two sinks. At my place, I find the towel rack is too far from the sink, so the towel frequently ends next to the sink. Also, there is only one dual power outlet in sort of an inconvenient location for the hair drier and the electric toothbrush (toothbrush ends up blocking the medicine cabinet).

  2. Damon Says:

    I like the first vanitty better with the recessed flat panel doors and Carrera marble top. So does this mean that the subway tile is in or out?

    Another thing to consider when designing the up stairs is that you may want to introduce one or two elements from the first floor so that the two spaces have a cohesiveness between them. Rather than looking like they could be two completely different homes, one modern, the other original 1920’s. I think you are off to a good start with the two tile selections. Are you planning on tiling the entire wall or just up to a height around 5′ or so? Another wall treatment that would be appropriate for the age of the house would be wainscoting.

    You could paint the wainscoting a nice creamy white and have it constructed in a flat recessed panel that then mirrors the vanity. Many bungalows often had wainscoting in the hallway and kitchen area in order to protect the walls. Installing wainscoting is also less expensive than tile per square foot. The wainscoting could also be capped with a picture ledge just below eye level, and you have instant gallery space.

    Just my two cents hope you don’t mind.

    • velosnaps Says:

      Damon – The subway tiles are for the first floor bathroom. We were talking about doing brown-colored tile upstairs, but I’m worried that won’t look good with the marble top (though in the picture, the floor under the vanity is brown tile). I’m intrigued by the idea of wainscoting (we had talked about doing that in the downstairs bathroom, but decided against it because there isn’t much space). Besides wainscoting, can you think of other ideas to tie the 1920s downstairs to the new upstairs (I’m insisting on wood trim to be stained, rather than trim to be painted. All of our wood trim downstairs is painted, but I’d love to see it stripped and stained some day)? I’m open to all kinds of ideas. 🙂 Thanks for your help!


Leave a Reply

