Fun…found!

My head, and heart, haven’t really been into cross season this year.  I’ve never been very good at cross (let’s face it, I do NO training), but I’ve always enjoyed the races and racing gave me an excuse/ the motivation to get on my bike and get a little exercise outdoors as the weather started turning cold and dark.  This year, though, the weather has turned not only cold and dark, but also quite rainy.  I have a hard enough time getting out of bed when the weather turns gray and gloomy, but I absolutely do not ride in the rain.  No way, no how.  So, that’s really limited my exercise this year.  I know, I’ve heard it all before, but really, I just lose all energy and motivation when the clouds roll in and the rain begins.

Today, however, the fun returned!  A teammate received a Gumby costume in the mail and dared anyone on his team to race in it at Campton Park.  I was the first to respond that I’d do it (I have no idea what I was thinking at the time), but I don’t think anyone actually expected me to do it.  When Eric brought out the costume, I was happy to put it on and “tailor” it to make it possible to ride in it (with the help of Roman’s pocket knife and Lou’s duct tape!).  I was the hit of the race today!  Every time I turned a corner, I could hear spectators yelling for GUMBY!  Even as the younger juniors passed me, they would call out “passing, Gumby!” or “hey, nice costume!”

No, I wasn’t really “racing”, but I did finish the race with the Gumby head in place.  Sure, I finished DFL, but I felt like I’d won first place!  I slapped a ton of high fives and took as many hands up as I could (the hand-eye coordination was a bit difficult with a mask over my face).  In all, I took: a piece of cake, a candy bar, a dollar bill, and I could have taken a muffin, but I knew that wasn’t a good idea after eating the cake.

Maybe I should race as Gumby every week?

3 Responses to “Fun…found!”

  1. julie Says:

    that was AWESOME! Kudos to you for riding in that costume… it really added so much to the race for all of us!

  2. Tamara Fraser Says:

    YOU were Gumby!?!?! Absolutely brilliant.

  3. J Says:

    But who will be Pokey? We were all so jealous of your awesome costume…


Leave a Reply

