New Year’s resolution?

I went to the gym this morning and it was kind of depressing.  As I looked around the room, all I saw were a bunch of middle aged people fighting what appeared to be a losing battle with their waistlines.  Sure the place was packed, with people who appeared to know what they were doing, but just because they knew where to find the equipment they needed/wanted doesn’t mean they actually did much with it.  I don’t know if that makes much sense.  I stopped myself several times as I realized that I was judging quite harshly many of the people around me, but there came a point where I couldn’t thinking anything other than these negative thoughts.  Hell, for all I know, some of those people may have been thinking similar thoughts about me! 

I’m not one for making New Year’s resolutions, but during my workout today, I resolved that I will (no, I MUST) get back into the habit of working out regularly.  Whether that means climbing on my bike even when I don’t want to, or forcing myself to get out of my warm comfy bed to go to the gym before work, I need to do it.  I must do it.

What resolutions are you making this year?

Posted in Life. 3 Comments »

3 Responses to “New Year’s resolution?”

  1. julie Says:

    i find gyms always make me negative- working out outdoors, regardless of weather, is always better! a little cold is much easier to endure than the gym “scene,” to me.

  2. Chris Says:

    I’m with Julie. Although it’s fun to create nicknames for people, especially if they’re clearly full of themselves.

  3. KrissyGo! Says:

    Indoor workouts make me sad. Somehow, I can bring myself to get on the trainer, but the treadmill is my arch-nemesis. It’s a soul killer. Why my first “task” for 2009 is an 8-week treadmill plan is a question for the ages.


Leave a Reply

