2008 Illinois State Cyclocross Championships – Montrose

Today’s race was hard.  Really hard.  I crashed.  A lot.  Hell, I even crashed twice before we even lined up.  I guess that was just practice for the rest of the race for me.  In the end, I was going back and forth with another woman, and I joked that it was a race to see who could crash the most.  I won that race, but lost the overall race by coming in dead last.  Ugh.  That really sucked.  

The season is now over, and I am pretty happy to say that.  I had a good time and really enjoyed getting out there most weekends, but I’m tired.  And, it’s getting cold outside.  I’m looking forward to spring and summer racing where my only job is to sit on the sidelines and try and get some good pictures.  Anyone else dreaming of 80 degree weather?!  🙂  Though, I’ve committed to trying harder this summer to prepare for the next season of cross.  I’m tired of sucking at this and need to work harder to get better.  

I was really happy to see so many people out for today’s race!  The atmosphere was very festive with SRAM guy (sorry, but I don’t know your real name!) serving up hot dogs and hot apple cider by the registration tent!  And, of course, the Cutting Crew bus of cheering fans was in top form on the bridge.  

Pictures are posted here.  Enjoy! 

3 Responses to “2008 Illinois State Cyclocross Championships – Montrose”

  1. psimet Says:

    Great season. Tough conditions today. Even if you came in last you’re a winner. The losers all stayed home and/or didn’t toe the line.

  2. Chris Says:

    That’s Ed — Taco Ed!

  3. velosnaps Says:

    Ed is the SRAM guy? We just learned at Woodstock that he and his wife, Anne, are our neighbors. 🙂


Leave a Reply

