Thank you!

Today, I topped 12,000 hits on my photo site.  That is simply amazing!  I think I’ve had it up since June, so 12,000 hits in 5 months seems pretty spectacular to me.  Here’s the thing, I’m not getting rich off pictures, but there has been enough support that I am able to justify spending all day at a race, taking pictures even when I might not feel like it.  I’ve come to realize that even though people may not buy many pictures, they at least enjoy re-living the race when they browse the online albums.  That’s good enough for me, and if I make a few dollars on the side to finance a new lens or new editing software, then that’s just the icing on the cake.

At the Chicago Criterium, I met someone who said he took photos for the ChiCrossCup several years ago and he was frustrated that he didn’t sell many pictures.  He’s a professional photographer, so I can understand how that might be frustrating for him.  But, I don’t do this for a living.  I do it because I enjoy it and I’m now challenged to find an interesting spot to take pictures, sometimes risking injury if a racer goes off course.  But there’s fun in that for me, too.  

Thank you to everyone who has bought pictures, and to those who take the time to tell me that they like the pictures that I take.  I’m still learning, and have a ways to go, but that positive feedback is what keeps me coming back week after week.  Well, that and my husband who’s racing anyway.  😉

Here are a few of my favorites from the Chicago Criterium.  I love the kid photos!

One Response to “Thank you!”

  1. Chris Says:

    I think I know to whom you refer, and you have to just take him with a grain of salt. He’s always got something nay to say about the race scene and trying to make a living off it.


Leave a Reply

