Anti-feminist?

I’ve always been a feminist, since as far back as I can remember.  I was always told that I can do anything a boy can do, and that I could even do it better, if I wanted.  The key word there is “wanted”.  There are some things that I’m happy to let boys do… or, more specifically, there are things that I’m happy to let Cliff do and they’ve become his “job” around the house.  Cleaning bikes is one of those things.

We’ve started joking about the cleaning bikes issue because Cliff has made it known that he hates to ride in mud or rain because it means he’ll have to spend time cleaning the bike afterwards.  It’s not enough that he has to clean his own bike, but now that I’m riding more frequently, it also means cleaning my bike, too.  Yes, I know, the feminists of the world would say that I should really learn to clean my own bike (and maintain it, too) because it will make more self-sufficient.  But, to be perfectly honest, I’m okay leaving the maintenance to the man.  

Tonight, as we were leaving cross practice, Roman asked who was going to clean our bikes.  He must have noticed that they still have mud on them from Sunday’s race.  I’m guessing Cliff will probably get around to it on Saturday.

Roman’s bike looked pretty clean tonight compared to how it looked on Sunday (pictures above).

I know how to change my tube, in case of a flat… barely.  But, as far as I’m concerned, that’s all I really need to know.  Anything else and I’ll just pick up the phone and call someone to come pick me up.  🙂

Leave a Reply

